Community Excellence Awards

The League recognizes innovative solutions through the peer-nominated Community Excellence Award, a spirited competition we affectionately call “The Race for the Cup.”

For the latest information on the award, past winners, and how to enter, please visit our Community Excellence Awards website.


Past winners

Honorary Life Membership Award

Honorary Life Membership, first awarded in 1932, is the League’s highest honor, reserved for the most active and inspiring leaders dedicated to the League and its mission.

View all HLM recipients since 1932

Michael A. Guido

Michael A. Guido Leadership and Public Service Award

Celebrating a chief elected official who personifies professionalism and leadership, is an active League member, is dedicated to the citizens in their community and advocates on their behalf in Lansing and Washington, DC.

Click here for more information on this award

Past winners

Jim Sinclair

Jim Sinclair Exceptional Service Award

Celebrating a person dedicated to public service who has shown passion and commitment to the League, enthusiastically supporting its mission and promoting its purpose.

Click here for more information on this award

Past winners

Community Builder Award

The Community Builder Award honors individuals whose leadership creates positive community change. Through efforts such as encouraging civic engagement, supporting up-and-coming leaders, fostering good working relationships, and thinking strategically, they make their community a place where people truly love to live and work.

Past winners

Legislator of the Year Awards

The Legislator of the Year Award is presented to a few legislators for their instrumental actions in the Michigan State Legislature on behalf of local communities. These individuals are recognized for their efforts in the passage of legislation that will benefit local governments, or who have fought consistently to support local government.

Past Winners

Awards of Merit

Each year, the Michigan Municipal League recognizes and honors a select few individuals with Special Awards of Merit for outstanding contributions to Michigan communities.

Tom Youatt

Outstanding Service Awards

The Outstanding Service Award is granted to individuals or communities who have gone above and beyond in helping League staff advocate on behalf of all local communities at the state and/or federal level.  From being involved in our internal committee process, to testifying in front of legislative committees, to being involved on League or legislative workgroups, their feedback and time commitment has been crucial to our efforts.

  • 2019
  • 2018
    • Brandon Fournier, Labor Attorney, Shifman Law
  • 2014
    • Tom Dempsey
    • Chris Miller
    • Tom Youatt
    • City of Midland
  • 2013
    • Brian Donovan
    • Pat Sullivan
    • Jaymes Vettraino
    • Kara Wood
  • 2012
    • Stephen Postema
    • Tim Wolff

Elected Officials Academy – An Education and Recognition Program

The Elected Officials Academy is a four-level program that recognizes the educational and leadership accomplishments of elected officials.  Learn all about it by clicking here.

Level One: Education Award
To encourage and recognize the efforts of local elected officials who obtain fundamental information regarding Michigan municipalities.

Level Two: Leadership Award
To encourage and recognize the efforts of local elected officials who build on the core knowledge obtained in Level One, to enhance their leadership skills and to continue their dedication to excellence in community leadership.

Level Three: Governance Award
To encourage and recognize the efforts of local elected officials who achieve an outstanding level of education and leadership beyond that obtained in Level Two, and their continuing dedication to excellence in community governance.

Level Four: Ambassador Award
To encourage and recognize the exemplary service of locally elected officials to their community, to the communities of the state of Michigan, and to the Michigan Municipal League.

Level 4 Graduates

  • Monica Galloway, City Councilmember, Flint (2020)
  • Brenda F. Moore, Mayor Pro Tem, Saginaw (2019)
  • Lois Allen-Richardson, Councilmember, Ypsilanti (2018)
  • Jim Holtrop, City Commissioner, Hudsonville (2018)
  • Jeff Jenks, City Commissioner, Huntington Woods (2018)
  • Rebecca Hopp, Mayor Pro Tem, Ferrysburg (2017)
  • Suzanne Pixley, Mayor, Eastpointe (2016)
  • Joshua Meringa, Councilmember, Grandville (2014)
  • Nathan Triplett, Mayor, East Lansing (2014)
  • Barbara Holt, Mayor, Walker (2013)
  • Deb Doyle, Mayor, Durand (2012)
  • David Lossing, Mayor, Linden (2012)

Affiliate and Other Awards

Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys Awards

Click here to learn more.

Michigan Municipal Executives John M. Patriarche Distinguished Service Award

This award is given each year at the Michigan Municipal League’s Annual Convention during the Colloquium session. Click here to learn more.

Loss Control Achievement Awards

The Workers’ Compensation Fund gives out annual Loss Control Achievement awards to recognize communities making outstanding efforts in maintaining safe work environments.

  • Fund Year 2019/20 Press Release
  • Fund Year 2018/19 Press Release
  • Fund Year 2017/18 Press Release
  • Fund Year 2011/12 Press Release
  • Fund Year 2010/11 Press Release

National League of Cities Awards

The National League of Cities (NLC) recognizes cities and towns that have turned ideas into accomplishments. It provides various avenues to cities for sharing and rewarding their efforts.  Each year, member cities are given the opportunity to nominate their programs for three different award and recognition programs: Awards for Municipal Excellence, City Cultural Diversity Awards, and City Showcase.

©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved