Michigan Municipal League Insurance Boards Announce 2024 Member Dividends

Jessica Weirauch
Michigan Municipal League
[email protected], 734-669-6311


ANN ARBOR, Michigan – The Michigan Municipal League Workers’ Compensation Fund and the Michigan Municipal League Liability & Property Pool will issue dividends totaling $16.3 million to member communities in 2024. This will benefit more than 1,000 Michigan cities, villages, counties, townships and other public entities.

Members of the MML Workers’ Compensation Fund will receive about $14 million in dividends. Fund members have received a total of $63.2 million in dividends over the previous five years, corresponding to about 37 percent of member premiums during the same period.

Members of the MML Liability & Property Pool will receive about $2.3 million in dividends upon coverage renewal. Pool members have received a total of $9.9 million in dividends over the previous five years, representing about 8 percent of member premiums during the same period.

“These dividend payments demonstrate just one benefit of member-owned programs like the Fund and the Pool,” said Michael Forster, Director of Risk Management Services at the League. “When our members work diligently to reduce risks and improve safety, the resulting savings in claims expenses are returned to them in the form of dividends.”

For questions regarding MML Workers’ Compensation Fund or MML Liability & Property Pool, contact Michael Forster, Director, Risk Management Services, at (734) 669-6340 or [email protected]. For media inquiries, contact Jessica Weirauch, Director, Marketing and Communications, at (734) 669-6311 or [email protected].

MML Liability & Property Pool Directors

Chair: Dave Post
Village of Hillman

Thad Beard
City of Rockford

George Bosanic
City of Greenville

Robert E. Clark
City of Monroe

Sue Osborn
City of Fenton

Brenda Stumbo
Ypsilanti Charter Township

Dan Swallow
City of Tecumseh

Dan Gilmartin (Ex Officio)
Executive Director/CEO
Michigan Municipal League

MML Workers’ Compensation Fund Trustees

Chair: Adam Smith
City Manager/Municipal Executive
City of Grand Ledge

Vice Chair: Lee Kilbourn
City of Auburn

Brian Boggs
City Councilmember
City of Durand

Victor Cardenas
City of Novi

Bridget Dean
City of Berkley

Maureen Donker
City of Midland

Juan Ganum
City of Bridgman

Kevin Klynstra
City of Zeeland

Devin Olson
City of Munising

David Tossava
City of Hastings

Dan Gilmartin (Ex Officio)
Executive Director/CEO
Michigan Municipal League

Michigan Municipal League is dedicated to making Michigan’s communities better by thoughtfully innovating programs, energetically connecting ideas and people, actively serving members with resources and services, and passionately inspiring positive change for Michigan’s greatest centers of potential: its communities. The League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington, D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services. Learn more at


©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved