Michigan Municipal League Honors Graduates of 2024 Elected Officials Academy

Jessica Weirauch
Michigan Municipal League
[email protected], 734-669-6311


LANSING, Michigan – The Michigan Municipal League honored the Elected Officials Academy (EOA) 2024 Graduates on March 13, at the League’s Capital Conference in Lansing.

The EOA is an ongoing four-level program that educates and recognizes elected officials across the state for their dedication to becoming as professional and knowledgeable as possible in the role of public servant. The voluntary program was created in 1997 by a board of elected officials working with League staff.

“Congratulations to this year’s Elected Official’s Academy graduates,” said League Board President Robert E. Clark, Mayor of Monroe. “The League is proud to provide programming like this to our members. The EOA program is an amazing resource for our local elected officials and helps them become the best public servants they can be. Their commitment is something to celebrate.”

Level One graduates receive the Education Award, which requires 25 academy credits. This year’s recipients are: Petoskey Mayor Pro Tem Christina DeMoore; Garden City Mayor Pro Tem Kimberly Dold; Howell Mayor Robert Ellis; Benton Harbor Commissioner Sharon Henderson; Benton Harbor Commissioner Juanita Henry; Benton Harbor Commissioner Edward Isom; Rose Jones, Community Advisory Council, Detroit; Royal Oak Commissioner Brandon Kolo; Benton Harbor Mayor Marcus Muhammad and Benton Harbor Mayor Pro Tem Duane Seats.

Level Two graduates receive the Leadership Award, which requires 55 academy credits. This year’s recipients are: Port Huron Councilmember Anita Ashford, Ferndale Mayor Raylon Leaks-May, Sterling Heights Councilmember Michael Radtke Jr., Harper Woods Councilmember Ivery Toussant Jr. and Sterling Heights Councilmember Barb Ziarko.

Level Three graduates receive the Governance Award, which requires 100 academy credits. This year’s recipients are: Beverly Hills Councilmember Rock Abboud, Berkley Mayor Bridget Dean, Eastpointe Councilmember Cardi DeMonaco Jr., Westland Deputy Mayor James Godbout, Saginaw Councilmember Bill Ostash and Hastings Mayor David Tossava, Level Four graduates receive the Ambassador Award, which requires 150 academy credits. There are three recipients this year: Berkley Councilmember Dennis Hennen, Ludington Councilor Kathy Winczewski and Montrose Mayor Colleen Brown.

“Congratulations to the 2024 graduates of the Elected Officials Academy, who personify excellence in public service,” said Emily Kieliszewski, Assistant Director, Member Experience and Learning of the League. “Their dedication to ongoing education and professional development sets a standard of governance that benefits communities across Michigan. We’re pleased to recognize these leaders for their efforts to better serve their residents and enhance local leadership.”

Photos from the League’s 2024 CapCon:

For questions about the Elected Officials Academy, contact the League’s Emily Kieliszewski, Assistant Director, Member Experience and Learning, at 517-908-0302 and [email protected].

For additional information contact the League’s Jessica Weirauch, Director of Marketing and Communications, at 734-669-6631 and [email protected].

Michigan Municipal League is dedicated to making Michigan’s communities better by thoughtfully innovating programs, energetically connecting ideas and people, actively serving members with resources and services, and passionately inspiring positive change for Michigan’s greatest centers of potential: its communities. The League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington, D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services. Learn more at


©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved