Michigan Municipal League Announces Safety Achievement Awards


Matt Bach
Director of Communications
Michigan Municipal League
(734) 669-6317; C: (810) 874-1073
[email protected];


Michigan Municipal League Announces Safety Achievement Awards

35 Communities Recognized for Focus on Employee Safety

LANSING, Michigan – Thirty-five Michigan communities have earned statewide honors for their outstanding dedication to maintaining and improving workplace safety.

The Michigan Municipal League Workers’ Compensation Fund has presented its 2018-2019 Loss Control Achievement Awards to the member cities, villages, townships, and public entities listed below.

Winners are selected based on the Experience Modification Factor (EMF), a rating that reflects the frequency and severity of employee injuries. An EMF under 1.00 indicates a better-than-average safety record and results in significantly reduced insurance premiums for the employer. Twenty-two MML Fund members were celebrated for exceptionally good (low) EMF ratings in their size categories, and thirteen received “most improved” awards in their size categories.

“These communities have demonstrated excellent management, commitment, and an understanding that making safety a priority protects both their staff and their budgets,” said Michael Forster, Director of Risk Management Services for the Michigan Municipal League.

2018-2019 Loss Control Award Winners – Lowest EMF *

Northville Charter Township (.65)
City of Trenton (.65)
City of Alma (.64)
Village of Milford (.66)
City of Grand Blanc (.70)
City of Gibraltar (.72)
City of Negaunee (.72
City of the Village of Douglas (.75)
City of Montague (.75)
Village of Cass City (.76)
Village of Oxford (.76)
City of Williamston (.76)
Mundy Charter Township (.75)
Montrose Charter Township (.77)
City of Pleasant Ridge (.78)
Village of Armada (.79)
City of Leslie (.79)
Village of Pinckney (.79)
City of Galesburg (.88)
Village of Goodrich (.88)
City of Montrose (.89)
Harbor Beach Community Hospital (.68)

*( ) = EMF

2018-2019 Loss Control Award Winners – Most Improved EMF **

City of Grosse Pointe (-.87)
City of Wixom (-.33)
Frenchtown Charter Township (-1.07)
City of Dowagiac (-.34)
City of Iron River (-.65)
Armada Township (-.38)
City of Davison (-.36)
Village of Chesaning (-.24)
City of Memphis (-.95)
City of Auburn (-.84)
Wheatland Township (-.70)
Village of Burr Oak (-.58)
NW Regional Airport Commission (-1.79)

**( ) = decrease in EMF, comparing the most recently completed policy year (7/1/17–6/30/18) to the calculation for the current policy year (7/1/18–6/30/19).

MML Workers’ Compensation Fund Board of Trustees
Lois Allen-Richardson, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Ypsilanti
Christine Burns, Village Manager, Village of Spring Lake
Todd Campbell, City Manager, City of Saline
Maureen Donker, Mayor, City of Midland
Deborah Doyle, Mayor, City of Durand
Scott Erickson, City Manager, City of Ironwood
Daniel P. Gilmartin, Executive Director & CEO, Michigan Municipal League
Lee Kilbourn, Mayor, City of Auburn
Devin Olson, City Manager, City of Munising
Adam Smith, City Administrator, City of Grand Ledge
David J. Tossava, Mayor, City of Hastings
Michael Forster, Fund Administrator, Michigan Municipal League

About the MMLWCF: The Michigan Municipal League Workers’ Compensation Fund started in 1977 with five members and has grown to a current participation of over 900 public entities.  Assets exceed $150 million.

For additional information, contact the League’s Matt Bach, Director of Communications, at (810) 874-1073 (cell); (734) 669-6317 (office) and [email protected].


About the League: Michigan Municipal League is dedicated to making Michigan’s communities better by thoughtfully innovating programs, energetically connecting ideas and people, actively serving members with resources and services, and passionately inspiring positive change for Michigan’s greatest centers of potential: its communities. The League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington, D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services. Learn more at



©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved