2018 Election Produced Interesting Results

Posted on November 9, 2018 by Dene Westbrook



For the first time in 32 years, Democrats won all three constitutional offices (Governor, Attorney General and Secretary of State). Gretchen Whitmer won the Governor’s race by over nine points. The Attorney General contest went early into the morning, but has now been called for Dana Nessel. And a Democrat will hold the Secretary of State office for the first time in 24 years with Jocelyn Benson’s win. Democrats also carried the State Education Boards (MSU, UM and WSU), and regained a majority on the State Board of Education.

At the state level, Republicans maintained control of the House (58-52) and Senate (22-16), although by slimmer margins than they currently hold. In federal races, incumbent Debbie Stabenow (D) prevailed over challenger John James (R) and will continue to serve in the U.S. Senate. In the U.S. Congress, Elissa Slotkin (D) won a hard fought race against incumbent Mike Bishop (R) in the MI 8th, and Haley Stevens (D) prevailed over Lena Epstein (R) in the MI 11th.

State Senate
Going into the election, Republicans had a super-majority with 27 of the 38 seats in the Michigan Senate. With 84 percent turnover and seven new members never having served in the House or Senate previously, the Republicans will maintain their majority and return with 22 seats in January.

Campaign 2018 – Michigan State Senate (38)

Democrat Seats Republican Seats
16 22
Brinks (Kent)
McMorrow (Oakland)
Polehanki (Wayne)
McCann (Kalamazoo)
Bayer (Oakland)

State House
Republicans held 63 of the 110 seats in the Michigan House headed into Tuesday’s midterm election. They will maintain majority (58-52). Republican Reps. Iden, Inman, Crawford, all ended up winning very close contests, and Gregory Markkanen picked up a seat in the House 110th, making a huge difference for Republicans and maintaining a majority.

Democrats did win 6 seats, but picked up 5, as they lost the House District 110th seat by 500 votes.  They are as follows:

Campaign 2018 – Michigan House of Representatives (110)

Democrat Seats Republican Seats
52 58
Witwer (Eaton)
Kolezar (Wayne)
Manoogian (Oakland)
Kuppa (Oakland)
Pohutsky (Wayne)
Morgan (Calhoun/Kzoo)

*NOTE: All races were based on reported numbers that have not been certified/canvassed and reporting errors can occur

Proposals (all passed)

Prop 1 – Legalizes recreational marijuana

Prop 2 – Changes redistricting process to a citizen’s commission

Prop 3 – Creates new voting reforms (same day registration, early voting)

Chris Hackbarth is the League’s director of state & federal affairs. He can be reached at 517-908-0304 and [email protected].

1675 Green Road,
Ann Arbor MI 48105
Capitol Office
208 N. Capitol Ave.,
1st Floor Lansing, MI 48933
©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved