Nominate an Individual or Organization for a Michigan Traffic Safety Award

Posted on September 28, 2016 by Dene Westbrook

Each year the Governor’s Traffic Safety Advisory Commission (GTSAC) presents awards for traffic safety in Michigan. Award nominations must be received by November 4, 2016. The GTSAC was formed by an Executive Order of the Governor in 2002 to identify traffic safety challenges and develop, promote, and implement strategies to address them. Awards will be presented in the following categories.

Outstanding Traffic Safety Achievement Award: Award winners will be individuals or organizations whose contributions during 2014-2016 are judged to stand above others in the state. Nominations must include a well-defined problem and present clear and measurable results.

Richard H. Austin Long-Term Traffic Safety Achievement Award: Award winners will be individuals or organizations judged to best represent “the spirit of traffic safety” through a sustained, long-term contribution (10 years or longer) and commitment to traffic safety in Michigan.

Student Award: The GTSAC will recognize a high school of college student engaged in a traffic safety program.

Nominations must be received on or before November 4, 2016, at the address listed on the nomination form. Entries received after this date will not be considered. Questions may be directed to Ms. Janet Hengesbach Bawol at 517-284-3066 or [email protected]. For an electronic version of the nomination form please click here.

John LaMacchia is the Assistant Director of State Affairs for the League handling transportation, infrastructure, energy and environment issues. He can be reached at [email protected] or 517-908-0303.


1675 Green Road,
Ann Arbor MI 48105
Capitol Office
208 N. Capitol Ave.,
1st Floor Lansing, MI 48933
©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved