2018 METRO Act Fee-sharing Payments

Posted on May 30, 2018 by Dene Westbrook

On May 25, 2018, the Local Community Stabilization Authority Council approved the disbursement of $24.7 million of METRO Act maintenance fees to the 516 eligible cities and villages and 1,240 eligible townships. The Authority will disburse the maintenance fees on May 31.

CV Table 3: Eligible City and Village Fee‐sharing Payment Calculations

Township Table 1: Eligible Township Fee‐sharing Payment Calculations

On October 1, 2014, the powers, duties, functions, and responsibilities previously vested in the Metropolitan Extension Telecommunications Rights‐of‐Way Oversight (METRO) Authority under the Metropolitan Extension Telecommunications Rights‐of‐Way Oversight Act, 2002 PA 48, as amended, MCL 484.3101 to 484.3120 (the “METRO Act”) were transferred to and vested in the Local Community Stabilization Authority (the “Authority”).

Under the METRO Act, the Authority has the exclusive power to assess fees on telecommunication providers owning telecommunication facilities in public rights‐of‐way located within one or more cities, villages, or townships located, in whole or in part, within a county having a population of 10,000 or more or a city, village or township that enacts an ordinance or resolution electing to be classified as part of a metropolitan area under the METRO Act (each a “Metropolitan Area”).

Telecommunications providers are required to pay an annual maintenance fee under section 8 of the METRO Act. April 1 to March 31 is the annual period for the assessment of the maintenance fees, which are due each year by April 29.

John LaMacchia is the Assistant Director of State and Federal Affairs for the League handling transportation, infrastructure, energy and environment issues. He can be reached at [email protected] or 517-908-0303.

1675 Green Road,
Ann Arbor MI 48105
Capitol Office
208 N. Capitol Ave.,
1st Floor Lansing, MI 48933
©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved