Michigan Municipal League Honors Graduates of 2020 Elected Officials Academy

Press Release


Matt Bach
Director of Communications
Michigan Municipal League
(734) 669-6317; C: (810) 874-1073
[email protected];


Michigan Municipal League Honors Graduates of 2020 Elected Officials Academy

ANN ARBOR, Michigan — The Michigan Municipal League is honoring 22 graduates of its 2020 Elected Officials Academy this summer.

Now in its 23rd year, the Elected Officials Academy is an ongoing four-level program that educates and recognizes elected officials across the state for their dedication to becoming as professional and knowledgeable as possible in the role of public servant. The Elected Officials Academy, a voluntary education and recognition program, was created in 1997 by a board of elected officials working with League staff.

Recipients of the 2020 Level One Education Award who have completed 25 academy credits are the following elected officials: Rock Abboud, Beverly Hills councilmember; Michael Balls, Saginaw councilmember; Dean Bevacqua, Rochester councilmember; Tracy Bottecelli, Fenton councilmember; Kelly Breen, Novi councilmember; Jamie Forbes, Saginaw councilmember; Carol Glanville, Walker commissioner; Roslyn Grafstein, Madison Heights mayor pro tem; David Hamilton, Troy councilmember; Mohammed Hassan, Hamtramck councilmember; Michael Lesich, Fraser councilmember; Timothy O’Donnell, Ferrysburg councilmember; and Veronica Paiz, Harper Woods councilmember.

The recipients of the 2020 Level Two Leadership Award who have completed 55 academy credits are Clint Bryant, Saginaw former councilmember; Cardi DeMonaco, Jr., Eastpointe councilmember; Janet Dillon, Saline councilmember; Eric Hufnagel, Saint Johns mayor; Lee Kilbourn, Auburn mayor; and Kathy Winczewski, Ludington councilmember.

The recipients of the 2020 Level Three Governance Award who have completed 100 academy credits are Steven Baker, Berkley councilmember; and Marlon Brown, Mason mayor pro tem.

The Level Four Ambassador Award, which demonstrates the recipient’s practical application of all the education and skills he or she has acquired, was awarded to Monica Galloway, Flint city council president. A separate press release and announcement will be done about Galloway.

For a video about this year’s graduates go here, and click here to view a video about the EOA program.

For additional information, contact the League’s Matt Bach, director of communications, at (810) 874-1073 (cell) and [email protected].

About the League: Michigan Municipal League is dedicated to making Michigan’s communities better by thoughtfully innovating programs, energetically connecting ideas and people, actively serving members with resources and services, and passionately inspiring positive change for Michigan’s greatest centers of potential: its communities. The League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington, D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services. Learn more at


©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved