Preemption Bill Barking Up the Wrong Tree – Action Needed

Posted on May 15, 2018 by Dene Westbrook

Municipalities seeking to respond to concerns of puppy mills in their communities will no longer have the ability to act if House Bill 5917 is passed. The legislation will create a new act to prohibit a local government from enacting or enforcing an ordinance, policy, resolution, or rule that regulates pet shops. Currently, the League is aware of only a few communities who have passed such an ordinance. This legislation is an attempt to further erode local control.

House Bill 5917 is in committee for a vote tomorrow morning. The committee posting can be found HERE. Contact members of the House Agriculture Committee today, and encourage them to vote NO. Decision-making is best when at the local level for localized issues. This legislation removes the ability of the local governing body to react to issues brought forth by local constituents.The issue of puppy mills has been discussed in communities across the state, yet very few have proceeded with regulating pet shops in such a manner. House Bill 5917 is a solution in search of a problem that doesn’t exist!

Members of the House Agriculture committee are listed below.

Tom Barrett (R) Committee Chair, 71st District
Julie Alexander (R) Majority Vice-Chair, 64th District
Dan Lauwers (R) 81st District
Gary Howell (R) 82nd District
Thomas Albert (R) 86th District
Julie Calley (R) 87th District
Ben Frederick (R) 85th District
Brian Elder (D) Minority Vice-Chair, 96th District
Phil Phelps (D) 49th District
Terry Sabo (D) 92nd District
Tim Sneller (D) 50th District
Sara Cambensy (D) 109th District
The League will continue to follow this legislation and provide updates as available.


Jennifer Rigterink is a legislative associate for the League handling economic development, land use and municipal services issues.  She can be reached at [email protected] or 517-908-0305.

1675 Green Road,
Ann Arbor MI 48105
Capitol Office
208 N. Capitol Ave.,
1st Floor Lansing, MI 48933
©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved