Happy New (session) Year!

Posted on January 3, 2013 by Dene Westbrook

It’s 2013, a new year for all of us, and a new legislative session here in Lansing. While last session was extremely fast paced, I don’t expect this year will be much different. A new House is being sworn in, and there are 28 new members. We are fortunate that six additional former League members (and one former League lobbyist) are taking seats as legislators. That will bring us to a total of 27 legislators who are former city or village officials, and we look forward to working with them and other legislators in this new session.

The former League members who are new in this Legislature are (by district):

41st – Martin Howrylak, former Troy City Council member
52nd – Gretchen Driskell, former Mayor of Saline
68th – Andy Schor, former League lobbyist
69th – Sam Singh, former Mayor of East Lansing
74th – Rob VerHeulen, former Mayor of Walker
109th – John Kivela, former Mayor of Marquette
110th – Scott Dianda, former Village of Calumet Trustee and President

These members are added to this group of former League members in the legislature:

2nd – Alberta Tinsley Talabi, former Detroit Councilwoman
12th – Doug Geiss, former Taylor City Councilman
13th – Andrew Kandrevas, former Southgate City Councilman
15th – George Darany, former Dearborn City Councilman
19th – John Walsh, former Livonia City Councilman
22nd – Harold Haugh, former Mayor of Roseville
31st – Marilyn Lane, former Mayor of Fraser
34th – Woodrow Stanley, former Mayor of Flint and League Board of Trustees President
37th – Vicki Barnett, former Mayor of Farmington Hills and League Board of Trustees President
38th – Hugh Crawford, former Novi City Councilman
43rd – Gail Haines, former Lake Angelus City Councilwoman
45th – Tom McMillin, former Mayor of Auburn Hills
49th – Jim Ananich, former Flint City Councilman
50th – Charles Smiley, former Mayor of Burton and League Board of Trustees President
60th – Sean McCann, former member Kalamazoo City Commission
61st – Margaret O’Brien, former Portage City Councilwoman
90th – Joe Haveman, former Holland City Councilman
96th – Charles Brunner, former Mayor of Bay City
101st – Ray Franz, former Onekama Village Councilman and President

We’re looking forward to a new and exciting legislative session in 2013. Happy New Year!

Samantha Harkins is the Director of State Affairs for the League. She can be reached at 517-908-0306 and by email at [email protected]

1675 Green Road,
Ann Arbor MI 48105
Capitol Office
208 N. Capitol Ave.,
1st Floor Lansing, MI 48933
©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved