MML Members Score Victories in August Primary Elections

Posted on August 9, 2012 by Dene Westbrook

The Michigan Municipal League did well on Tuesday, with several of our members and former members who are running for the House of Representatives scoring victories.  We had eight members who came through contested primaries to earn their party nomination for the November 6th general election.  We also had three members that were uncontested and will move on.

Here is the list of results: 

Winners in contested primaries

2nd – Rep. Alberta Tinsley Talabi – former Detroit City Councilwoman
41st – Martin Howrylak, former Troy City Council member
57th – Jim Berryman, former Adrian Mayor
69th – Susan McGillicuddy, Meridian Supervisor
74th – Rob VerHeulen, Mayor of Walker
76th – Rep. Roy Schmidt, former Grand Rapids City Councilman
109th – John Kivela – Mayor of Marquette
110th – Scott Dianda – Village of Calumet Trustee and President

Uncontested Primary Winners in Open Seats:

23rd – Tom Boritzki, former Trenton mayor
52nd – Gretchen Driskell, Saline mayor
62nd – Mark Behnke, former Battle Creek Mayor

Uncontested Primary Incumbents:

12th – Doug Geiss
13th – Andrew Kandrevas
15th – George Darany
19th – John Walsh
22nd – Harold Haugh
31st – Marilyn Lane
34th – Woodrow Stanley
37th – Vicki Barnett
38th – Hugh Crawford
43rd – Gail Haines
45th – Tom McMillin
49th – Jim Ananich
50th – Charles Smiley
52nd – Mark Ouimet
60th – Sean McCann
61st – Margaret O’Brien
71st – Deb Shaughnessy
90th – Joe Haveman
96th – Charles Brunner
101st – Ray Franz

On a personal note, I ran for the House of Representatives in the Democratic primary here in the 68th District (Lansing/Lansing Twp). After a hard campaign, I was able to receive 43% of the vote in a seven-way primary and was victorious! While I will still do what I need to do to win in November, the seat is generally a Democratic-leaning seat so it is likely that I will be victorious.  While I am bummed to have to leave the League later in the year, I am excited for this new opportunity to serve the citizens of the Lansing area and all of Michigan in making the important policy decisions over the next two years.  And I won’t forget about the importance of communities and place for the future of Michigan. I campaigned on it, and believe in it! Thanks, everyone, for all your support.

Andy Schor is the Assistant Director of State Affairs for the Michigan Municipal League. Contact him at (517) 908-0300 or by email at [email protected].

1675 Green Road,
Ann Arbor MI 48105
Capitol Office
208 N. Capitol Ave.,
1st Floor Lansing, MI 48933
©2022 Michigan Municipal League LLC. All rights reserved