RSS Feeds :: Listservs :: mml mobile

powered by google

Media Room Blue Arrows

Jump to...

>>League Bios



















Press Release

Matt Bach, Director of Media Relations
Michigan Municipal League
(734) 669-6317;


Fenton’s Patricia Lockwood Elected to National League of Cities Board

Fenton Mayor Pro Tem Patricia Lockwood was recently elected to the National League of Cities (NLC) Board of Directors.

Lockwood, past-president of the Michigan Municipal League Board of Trustees, was selected to a two-year term on the NLC board during the organization’s annual Congress of Cities and Exposition in Seattle, Washington, Nov. 16, 2013. The NLC is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities and is a resource and advocate for 19,000 cities, towns and villages, representing more than 218 million Americans. Lockwood is the only delegate from Michigan to serve on the new NLC board.

“It’s a tremendous honor to be selected by my peers from throughout the nation to help lead this outstanding organization,” Lockwood said of the NLC. “I am truly grateful and look forward to serving the next two years on behalf of not only Michigan communities, but also communities across the United States.”

In addition, the NLC elected Mayor Chris Coleman of Saint Paul, Minn. to serve as NLC's 2014 president, Mayor Ralph Becker of Salt Lake City, Utah as first vice president, and Mayor Melodee Colbert Kean of Joplin, Mo. as second vice president.

All officers are selected by a 15-member nominating committee and are elected by NLC's membership to serve a one-year term. NLC's 2013 president, Mayor Marie Lopez Rogers of Avondale, Ariz., will serve as the organization's immediate past president.

Other new members of the board of directors are Tennell Atkins, mayor pro tem, Dallas, Texas; Ricki Barlow, councilman, Las Vegas, Nev.; Joe Buscaino, councilman, Los Angeles, Calif.; Mary Cameron, councilmember, Clemmons, N.C.; Sam Ferreri, mayor, Greenacres, Fla.; Ronald Green, city controller, Houston, Texas; Elizabeth Hurst, councilwoman, Fairburn, Ga.; Van Johnson, mayor pro tem, Savannah, Ga.; Kevin Kramer, councilman, Louisville, Ky.; Dot LaMarche, vice mayor, Farragut, Tenn.; Jesse Matthews, councilmember, Bessemer, Ala.; Gene McGee, mayor, Ridgeland, Texas; Joe Moore, alderman, Chicago, Ill.; David Sander, councilmember, Rancho Cordova, Calif.; Mark Stodola, mayor, Little Rock, Ark.; Betty Taylor, city councilor, Eugene, Ore.; Priscilla Tyson, councilwoman, Columbus, Ohio; Scott Hancock, Maryland Municipal League; Alan Kemp, Iowa League of Cities; Christopher Lockwood, Maine Municipal, Maine Municipal Association; Sam Mamet, Colorado Municipal League; and Ken Strobeck, League of Arizona Cities and Towns.

Michigan Municipal League advocates on behalf of its member communities in Lansing, Washington, D.C., and the courts; provides educational opportunities for elected and appointed municipal officials; and assists municipal leaders in administering services to their communities through League programs and services.



MML Home :: League Services :: Advocacy :: Training/Events :: Resources :: Insurance :: Legal :: Classifieds :: Links :: About MML :: Privacy :: Webmaster
Michigan Municipal League :: 1675 Green Road, Ann Arbor MI, 48105 :: 734.662.3246 l 800.653.2483

MML Home Page mml home Capital